About Us

The Friends of Pleasant Bay is a grassroots environmental group dedicated to the preservation of one of Cape Cod's most stunning recreational and ecological resources. Since its founding in 1985 the group has been successful in achieving State designation of the Bay as an Area of Critical Environmental Concern, and was instrumental in development and State approval of a Resource Management Plan for the Bay.

The Mission of the Friends of Pleasant Bay is:

  • To promote education, research and public awareness of the area as one of critical environmental concern
  • To preserve open space and to retain visual quality of the area
  • To preserve the environmental integrity of the bay shore
  • To ensure habitat protection and retention of the rich biological diversity and productivity of the bay
  • To retain and enhance public access to the shoreline
  • To preserve natural and historic sites
  • To promote public awareness of historic Indian culture

The Friends encourage innovative education projects centered on the Bay through an annual competitive grant program open to all public schools in the area. The Friends also provide regular support for advanced technical studies of the Bay, and develop and publish informational documents for public education and awareness.  We frequently participate in the public process on issues affecting the Bay, and raise and provide funds for purchase of critical open space land. 

FOPB By-laws 2012

Board of Directors 2019-2020

Tasia Blough, Brewster

Mon Cochran, Orleans, Co-Chair Floating Classroom

Robin Davis, Orleans

Eric Dicke, Orleans, Chair Finance

Robert Granger, Orleans, Chair Science

Katherine Green, Harwich

Suzanne Leahy, Brewster, Co-Chair Floating Classroom

Liz Maloney, Harwich

Jeanne McNett, Orleans, Chair Communications

Jeffrey Morgan, Harwich, Co-Chair Education

Alice S. Prince, Orleans

Kris Ramsey, Brewster, Chair Fundraising

Alice Ronty, Orleans, Chair Membership

Jensie Shipley, Chatham, Chair Events

John Sinopoli, Brewster, Co-Chair Education

Maia Ward, Harwich

Don Ziegler, Brewster

Dorothy Bassett, Harwich

Todd Kelley, Dennis

Up Close and Personal

Meet the Directors-Click Here

Officers 2019-2020

President: Suzanne Leahy, Executive Committee Chair

Vice President: Kris Ramsey

Secretary: Don Ziegler

Treasurer: Eric Dicke

Contact Us

Mailing Address:

       Friends of Pleasant Bay
             P.O. Box 1243
          Harwich, MA 02645


For general information: 


For information about grants: 


Contact website manager-Alice Ronty


© Friends of Pleasant Bay
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software